jump to navigation

Childhood Crush Confession 101 December 6, 2007

Posted by davegoblog in Blogging, Movies, Personal, Pop Culture, Sports, Star Wars, Television.
trackback

It started one week ago tomorrow. The confessions of your childhood crushes was spawned as an idea by Gedeon Maheux during an exchange on Twitter last Friday. Here’s a list of the participants, so you can see for whom we swooned:

And now, these are my confessions:

Laura Who remembers the Ice Princess? It was said to be the world’s largest uncut diamond. What world was that? The wonderful soap opera world of General Hospital in the early 1980s. With it in his possession, the evil megalomaniac, Dr. Evil Mikkos Cassadine, wished to harness the power of the Ice Princess to control the weather…and the world! Mooohahaha!!! Who would save Port Charles and make my heart skip a beat while doing it? Why none other than Laura Spencer (Genie Francis) and…oh yeah, some guys named Luke (Anthony Geary) and Scorpio (Tristan Rogers).

***

FisherFrom Luke & Laura and the Ice Princess to Luke Skywalker and Princess Leia. I always wanted to be Luke when playing with my Star Wars action figures as a kid, and my friend (Donnie) would be Han Solo. Prior to Return of the Jedi (1983), both of us would vie for the affections of the young senator from Alderaan. After RotJ, it got a little weird because Luke had a ssssister, a twin sister. However, that no longer mattered as any red-blooded adolescent boy growing up in 1983 had the image of Carrie Fisher dressed in a metal bikini permanently burned into their memory banks. Not even Bail Organa could memory-wipe that from my mind.

***

McGladeWhen Gedeon initially proposed this blog idea, one of the first names that popped into my head was Christine “Moose” McGlade from the Canadian imported You Can’t Do That On Television, which ran on Nickelodeon in its early days. I’m not sure why I was attracted to her. Maybe it had something to do with her saying, “I don’t know” and getting slimed in a Flashdance fashion. When did that ever happen? Maybe this falls under the Too Much Information category. Ged, I thought you said this was supposed to a guilt-free chance to share our crushes with the world!

***

RettonDuring the summer of 1984, I became infatuated with a certain 4′ 9″ gymnast by the name of Mary Lou Retton. America (and I) had their eyes glued to this energetic, leotard-clad student of Bela Karolyi. She scored a perfect 10 (because she was) in her final vault to give her the gold medal in the individual all-around women’s gymnastic competition. Even though she was 16 and I was 13 at the time, John Williams would have played the “Olympic Fanfare and Theme” at our wedding. Da-Da-Dant! Da-Da-Dant! Dant-Da-Dant-Da-Da! Hey, Anakin was just 9 when he fell in love with the 14-year old Padme.

***

ShueThe day after the Games of the XXIII Olympiad ended on August 12, 1984, a short-lived ABC TV show Call to Glory premiered and helped start the career of Elisabeth Shue. She played Jackie Sarnac, the teenage daughter of the fictitious USAF pilot Colonel Raynor Sarnac (Craig T. Nelson) at Edward Air Force Base in the early 1960s. Earlier that year, she captured my heart as well as the heart of Ralph Macchio in The Karate Kid. She would later marry Tom Cruise in Cocktail (1988) and become Mrs. Marty McFly in Back to the Future Part II (1989). How could I compete with them?

Comments»

1. Boyhood Crush Confessions « gedblog - December 6, 2007

[…] Comments Childhood Crush Conf… on Confess Your CrushesWolfgang on Boyhood Crush ConfessionsDave on Boyhood […]

2. Ged - December 6, 2007

Moooooooosssseee! Good one Dave! Right there with ya on that one. Well, pretty much all of them… except Genie Francis, but that’s because I had no clue what soap operas were growing up. Thanks for bearing it all for the world to see. Another round of digital group therapy 🙂

3. Tom Cruise » Childhood Crush Confession 101 - December 6, 2007

[…] davegoblog wrote an interesting post today on Childhood Crush Confession 101Here’s a quick excerptNelson) at Edward Air Force Base in the early 1960s. Earlier that year, she captured my heart as well as the heart of Ralph Macchio in The Karate Kid. She would later marry Tom Cruise in Cocktail (1988) and become Mrs. … […]

4. Dave - December 6, 2007

Mary Lou! How could I possibly forget? The All-American Olympic hero, perky smile and my introduction to the leotard. I was also infatuated with her.

Great list.

5. Lisa Merritt - December 6, 2007

Hah! what a time capsule. I’m going to go do mine now.

6. Cocoia Blog » Boyhood Crush Confessions. - December 6, 2007

[…] Living in the Now […]

7. Sandy (Momisodes) - December 6, 2007

What no Wonder Woman? I thought she was a staple? J/k 🙂 …I had no idea Mary Lou was 4’9″…that in itself is adorable!

My brother also love Elizabeth Shue. She is a hottie…wait, no…nevermind…

I loved your confessions….I had a blast doing mine as well…it’s up at Momisodes!

8. davegoblog - December 6, 2007

Here’s a list of the lovely ladies that didn’t quite make the cut:

* Morgan Fairchild – “Yeah, that’s the ticket.”
* Jackie Zeman – Another actress from General Hospital.
* Bo Derek – Apparently I have a thing for conservative Republicans (see also Mary Lou Retton).
* Dian Parkinson – One of the first Barker’s Beauties on The Price is Right.
* Smurfette – This was going to be a joke or was it?

9. Nicholas David - December 6, 2007

I wanted Kathy Ireland more than anything.

10. Ged - December 6, 2007

I was going to do an honorable mentions section, and in it there was… you guessed it, Morgan Fairchild! Tooo funny! Also there was Kim Richards (escape from Witch Mountain), Tina Louise, Bo Derek (of course!) and ugh, yes, Joan Collins. My parents used to watch too much Dynasty I guess. Her accent crept into my tiny little brain. 🙂

There could be an entire post just on cartoon crushes I think. But that’s for another time…

11. gedblog » Blog Archive » Boyhood Crush Confessions - December 21, 2007

[…] out these blogger’s childhood crushes: • Living In the now • Kaylow • Cocoia Blog • nergalicious • Momisodes • Russian Mafia […]

12. Christine McGlade - March 20, 2008

wow-I’m flattered but that picture sucks.

13. Patrick - July 11, 2008

I had a HUGE crush on Christine as a kid. I’ve just watched a few old episodes and I STILL find her attractive…

14. Peter - November 6, 2009

Me too.I think I was genetically programmed to have a crush on freckle faced Irish girls.


Leave a Reply

