jump to navigation

The year that was January 2, 2008

Posted by davegoblog in Blogging, Family, History, NaBloPoMo, Personal.
trackback

Hey, a blog post that reviews happenings or stuff from the previous year. That sounds like an original idea…riiiight. So, here’s my life from 2007 – the short form:

  • January: I started my new job as an employee of Sherwin-Williams on January 2, 2007 (one year ago today), and I’ve been painting the town ever since then. Okay, I’ve been mostly cutting up and painting parts of trucks and buses, but it’s been definitely fun! Watched Napoleon Dynamite for the first time.
  • February: Valentine’s Day Blizzard, and the florist still delivered flowers for Anna. Lily baptized on the last Sunday of the month.
  • March: We saw Brian Regan at the beginning of the month and visited North Carolina at the end of the month. My Mom went into the hospital on March 23 because of bad stomach pains.
  • April: Lily sat up by herself for the first time. Lily’s first Easter. My first Twitter post.
  • May: My Mom had her second and third surgeries. Rosie and I drove to PA to visit my Mom for Mother’s Day, although she was in ICU the whole time. Season finales for Heroes and Lost. Saw George R.R. Martin in Second Life as Tyrion Lannister.
  • June: Rosie completed Kindergarten, began swim team, and had her dance recital all within three days. We became members of First Congregational United Church of Christ. Rosie turned 6 and lost her first tooth, while I was burning 36 candles. My first work trip to lovely Ft. Wayne, IN.
  • July: Lily started crawling. All of us drove to PA for Independence Day. My Mom had her fourth surgery. Rosie swam in the Championship Swim Meet, and we bought Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows later that day.
  • August: Anna and I celebrated our ninth anniversary by going to the house from “A Christmas Story” and enjoying a wonderful meal at an Indian restaurant. My first blog post on Living in the now. Went sailing with the whole family on Sandusky Bay near Cedar Point on Anna’s brother’s friend’s boat. Rosie and I attended our first Cleveland Indians baseball game. Rosie lost her second tooth and started 1st grade.
  • September: My Mom celebrated her birthday in the hospital. Lily got her first tooth, took two steps, and started climbing steps. Rosie and I helped assemble kits for National Chemistry Week. Anna and I went for an RIT Alumni cruise on Lake Erie.
  • October: Lily’s first visit to the emergency room. The 20th annual National Chemisty Week. Halloween parties from the middle of October until the end of the month. Switched to Time Warner Cable and got DVR!
  • December: Mom’s eighth surgery. Rosie walked in the Light Up Berea parade. Vote at the church. Holiday music program, Christmas pageant, cookies, cookies, and more cookies! Lily’s second Christmas and Rosie’s seventh one. Rosie almost stayed awake until 2008. Maybe next year.
Comments»

1. Ged - January 2, 2008

Here’s praying that 2008 is much better for your Mom. Hope also to see you guys sometime this year. Take care and thanks for the great post!

2. Lisa Merritt - January 2, 2008

Wow, you can remember all the way back to January with two kids?
I can’t say anything smug about final episodes of tv shows making your list, b/c anything Battlestar Galactica makes my list, and that includes if a repeat gets recorded by the DVR.

Best wishes for your mom this year.

We’ll miss you at Blog365. not too late to join…..

Lisa

3. Clare - January 2, 2008

Glad you liked the idea. Are you really doing Blog365??? Wow. I plan to be impressed.

4. davegoblog - January 3, 2008

Clare – I *will* not being doing Blog365. I thought about it for a bit, but then decided that I liked being married πŸ™‚

Lisa – I cheated by going back through our calendars to see what we did. Somethings I remembered, and others I didn’t.

Ged – Thanks for the support! I don’t know if we’ll make it to NC this year, but we’ll see.

5. Sandy (Momisodes) - January 3, 2008

Sounds like you’ve had an eventful year. I hope 2008 will be a better year for your mom as well.

I don’t blame you for dodging the Blog365….It is a bit nutty πŸ™‚

6. Clare - January 4, 2008

Check. Not doing. Good. I was scared. Mostly just because a month almost killed me. 365 is insane. I mean, good for the people who do it, but still, you gotta have some offline time so that you have something to write about.


Leave a Reply

