jump to navigation

Another Mom update December 20, 2007

Posted by davegoblog in Family, Personal.
trackback

MomKid

Well, my Mom continues on the mend from her seventh and eighth surgeries, which were about three weeks ago.  No fistula has formed as the incision has been healing.  That is good and welcomed news since the development of a fistula has been the main complication of recovery from her previous operations.  If one does not form this time, then that would allow her to not be constantly attached to an ostomy pouch and the problems with that.  She still has a long road ahead of her, but this is an important step.

I caught some flak from Mom at Thanksgiving because I had posted a birthday picture of her in the hospital this year.  I told her it was either that photo or one from when she had a perm.  Lucky for me I couldn’t find that one, but I did include the above shot of her and a bottle of Iron City Lager.  /duck

My Mom will be spending Christmas in the hospital next week, so please keep her in your thoughts and prayers as you celebrate.  Also, you can send her a free card via the Lehigh Valley Hospital site.  Contact me for her new room number, which you’ll need.

Comments»

1. Sandy (Momisodes) - December 20, 2007

Oh I hope she doesn’t have to wear an ostomy pouch. I will keep her and your family in my thoughts this Christmas. I wish her a successful recovery…

2. thebutton - December 24, 2007

My prayers continue to be with her. May no fistual develop and the ostomy pouch go away for good. *hugs*

3. Another Mom update « Living in the now - January 30, 2008

[…] more or less since March 23, 2007 (about 10 months now).  As I’ve mentioned in previous posts, she’s had a number of surgeries on her small intestines with the hopes that no fistulas will […]


Leave a Reply

