jump to navigation

Things to do once you’re dead December 12, 2007

Posted by davegoblog in Future, Personal, Religion, Science, Technology.
trackback

Back when I did the Crazy 8s meme, I said that I wanted decide how to use my body for science after oxygen failed to reach my brain for at least five minutes and/or brain death occured.  Here’s a list of fun things to do when the Grim Reaper comes knocking:

  • Become an organ donor.  This can be as easy as getting a driver’s license.  You too can donate your eyes (or corneas) to Stevie Wonder just like Ferris Bueller would have.
  • Plant yourself on a body farm, which is used in the study of forensic anthropology: the study of human decomposition that occurs after death.  Currently, there are two facilities located in the United States: the original “Body Farm” is at the University of Tennessee – Knoxville and the more recent one is at Western Carolina University in Cullowhee, NC.  Find out more here and here.
  • Give up your old bones.  Instead of or in addition to the body donation, you can bequeath your skeleton for education as well.
Comments»

1. Lisa Merritt - December 12, 2007

Well, thanks for the festive post. I agree with you though, but you’d better let your family know what kind of service you want if you donate to science. My uncle donated his body to Emory University, and they said they would have his remains back to us within two years. So we’ve put off the service until we get the remains back, rather than holding one when he passed away last year.

BTW, your Wildcard Wednesday photo is up at RMB!

2. Sandy (Momisodes) - December 12, 2007

Wow…..just when I thought I couldn’t read 1 more blog about motherhood today 😉 I can always count on Dave to serve up something diff-rent 🙂

Not sure if I’d be interested in the Body Farm or having first year medical students dissect my insides. But I’m considering being an organ donor.

3. Bee - December 13, 2007

My macabre side has always fancied something less worthy… being cremated and tubed up as a firework and then spread over a wide area.

4. David - December 14, 2007

I also remember a story on This America Life of someone whose father wanted to be cremated then fired from his working cannon.


Leave a Reply

