jump to navigation

Lotus Notes, why do you vex me? November 27, 2007

Posted by davegoblog in NaBloPoMo, Personal, Technology.
trackback

About two weeks ago, I had a couple of skimishes with Lotus Notes email functions.  “We put the *fun* or *func* in your functions.”  Anyway, the first was when I attempted to insert the degree symbol (as in ºF) into an email.  I checked “Help” on the menu bar, searched for inserting symbols, and was rewarded with some nonsense about Unicode, compose sequence, and extended compose sequence.  WTºF?!?  Shortly after that, I surrendered and just went with the big F in the email.

Lotus

An hour later, I was replying to a different email to get a Holiday Roster for our facility, and I selected “Reply to All” instead of just clicking “Reply” button.  That normally wouldn’t be a problem except the original message was addressed to everyone in the Technical Division (almost 100 people!).  So, now they’re all expecting holiday cards.  It was a good laugh, and I only got a few snarky comments.  But, really…separate those buttons with something or at least put an early morning warning on them 🙂

ReplyAll

I did finally figure out this morning how to insert symbols into Lotus Notes email messages.  To add the degree symbol, all I have to do is:

  1. Press ALT-F1.
  2. Press ALT-F1 again.
  3. Type “0-248” and I’m done.

What could be easier than that?

Comments»

1. momisodes - November 27, 2007

I agree…there needs to be a great divide between the 2 buttons! I’ve made that mistake too so many times, only to inadvertently send deeply private thoughts and images to random people I don’t know (well, it happened once).

My MIL also clicked the Reply All by mistake one time in a mass email from my SIL. She managed to go on a rant about someone else in the family…only to show just how much of a crazy woman she is in the real and virtual world.

2. TGJ - July 3, 2009

Ahhh. Finally! a slightly more straightforward way to insert s degrees symbol. I’ve been messing around with those wretched Unicode commands for hours now!


Leave a Reply

