jump to navigation

Movies for a deserted island September 13, 2007

Posted by davegoblog in Movies.
trackback

Island02

Okay, so you’re marooned on a deserted island and had the foresight to bring along 20 of your favorite movies. What would you take? Since I was thinking ahead, I decided to take a number of different genres as well as a film I haven’t previously seen. Also, I stashed five “guilty pleasure” movies under my seat, so people wouldn’t see them. Now that I’m on the island, I don’t have to keep them a secret any longer. See what Ged, Anthony, and Corey (fellow survivors) took to their islands. A movie with an asterisk next to its number denotes that it’s on more than one of our lists.

20* – Some Like It Hot (1959) – After witnessing the St. Valentine’s Day Massacre, Joe (Tony Curtis) and Jerry (Jack Lemmon) dress in drag and join an girl band to escape the mob. Joe falls for Sugar Kane Kowalczyk (Marilyn Monroe) while Jerry as Daphne has a rich suitor who won’t take “no” for an answer. Comedy ensues.

19 – The Lost Boys (1987) – Corey & Corey take on Jack Bauer pre-Buffy style. The sequel, Lost Boys 2: The Tribe, is currently filming with a scheduled 2008 release. Memorable quote: “Death by stereo!” I have the Soundtrack on CD.

18 – Mary Poppins (1964) – Supercallifragilisticexpialidocious! Soundtrack on CD.

17 – Charlotte’s Web (1973) – I have fond memories of watching this on TV (every Labor Day?) before there were VCRs and DVD players. Maybe I can get Charlotte to spin “S-O-S” in her web.

16 – The Big Red One (1980) – A veteran sergeant (Lee Marvin) leads a squad in World War II in the same division (the First Infantry) in which he served in WWI. The soldiers under him include Pvt. Griff (Mark Hamill) and Pvt. Zab (Robert Carradine). Memorable quote: “You know how you smoke out a sniper? You send a guy out in the open and you see if he gets shot. They thought that one up at West Point.”

15 – Silverado (1985) – My favorite western has a star studded cast of Kevin Kline, Scott Glenn, Danny Glover, and Kevin Costner as the four main heroes. It also includes John Cleese, Rosanna Arquette, Brian Dennehy, and Jeff Goldblum. What a line-up!

14 – Top Gun (1986) – Who didn’t want to be a Navy pilot after this movie? What a recruiting tool! A young Meg Ryan plays the wife of Goose (Anthony Edwards). Memorable quotes: “I feel the need, the need for speed!” #94 AFI Movie Quote and “Your ego is writing checks your body can’t cash.” Soundtrack on cassette.

13 – What the #$*! Do We (K)now!? (2004) – Take a trip down the rabbit hole. Maybe I’m supposed to be on this island. Memorable quote: “Are all realities existing simultaneously?”

12 – Cast Away (2000) – I thought this would be useful for getting tips on starting a fire, spear-fishing, and light dental work. Although, I apparently have some source of power to watch these movies, so I may not need a fire. Oh, where did I put that volleyball?

11 – The Natural (1984) – Here’s my favorite sports movie, which I just learned closely parallels the legends of Percival and King Arthur. Robert Redford plays Roy Hobbs whose hubris leads him down a dark path where he is shot seemingly ending his baseball career. Older and wiser, he joins the ailing New York Knights (of the Round Table) to make a run for the pennant. Memorable quote: “Pick me out a winner Bobby.” That gets me every time. Soundtrack by Randy Newman on CD.

10 – Citizen Kane (1941) – This is the one I haven’t seen, and it’s AFI’s #1 American movie of all time. Memorable quote: “Rosebud.” #17 AFI Movie Quote.

9 – The Dark Crystal (1982) – Muppets can kick butt! Of course, if you watched Season 1 of the Muppet Show, then you already knew that. Lots of smoking and drinking as well 😉

8* – Fletch (1985) – How many times did I watch this in college? Soundtrack on vinyl! Aaaahh, yeah!

7 – E.T.: The Extra-Terrestrial (1982) – Steven Spielberg, John Williams, and a boy on his bike…flying…with an alien. That’s Amblin Entertainment. Memorable quote: “Beeeeeee. Gooood.”

6* – A Christmas Story (1983) – “Ho…Ho…Ho!” I’ll still celebrate Christmas on the island. Read about the journey to the real house in the movie.

5 – Ghostbusters (1984) – My sister and I could almost quote this movie from start to finish at one time. Soundtrack on cassette. GBII soundtrack on cassette as well. “Too hot to handle, too cold to hold!”

4 – The Adventures of Buckaroo Banzai Across the 8th Dimension (1984) – I always wondered what was in the mostly empty space between atoms. It’s the 8th Dimension! Memorable quote: “Laugh while you can monkey boy!” Soundtrack – I wish!

3* – Return of the Jedi (1983) – I needed to round out the original trilogy with this one. Do the Ewoks live on Endor or the forest moon of Endor? Soundtrack on vinyl (my Dad).

2** – Star Wars (1977) – My life changed forever at a drive-in in 1977. I was only six, so get your mind out of the trash compactor. Soundtrack on vinyl (my Dad) and cassette (me).

1** – The Empire Strikes Back (1980) – This edges out Star Wars for #1 in part because I always wanted to be Luke Skywalker in Bespin Gear (my favorite action figure). Soundtrack on vinyl (my Dad).

“Guilty Pleasure” Movies

5 – UHF (1989) – “Weird Al” Yankovic goes to the movies. Competition for the Summer of 1989: Batman, Lethal Weapon 2, Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade, and Honey, I Shrunk the Kids. Needless to say, it only lasted about a month in theaters. It starred Michael Richards (pre-Seinfeld), Fran Drescher (pre-The Nanny), Anthony Geary (General Hospital), Billy Barty, and Victoria Jackson (SNL). Memorable quote: “YOU get to drink from the FIRE HOSE!” Soundtrack on cassette.

4 – The Adventures of Bob & Doug McKenzie: Strange Brew (1983) – Bob and Doug try to get free beer and end up saving the world from mad scientist Mad Von Sydow. Memorable quote: “The power of the force has stopped you, you hosers.”

3 – The Pirates of Penzance (1983) – Kevin Kline as The Pirate King, you say. My second movie with him in it. First a cowboy, then a pirate. He’s great in anything.

2 – The Beastmaster (1982) – Marc Singer as a cross between Conan and Dr. Doolittle. Who cried when Kodo died? Let’s see your hands. Daaarrrr!!!!

1 – Grease 2 (1982) – The original Grease may have been the word, but Grease 2 was a cable classic (for me). Memorable quote: “Where does the pollen go?” Soundtrack on CD.

Update: The Grease 2 video link is no longer available due to a copyright claim by Paramount Pictures. I just watched it about a week ago. Oh well, check out this and this (anime mashups) as well as Harry Potter & Grease 2.

Comments»

1. Anthony - September 13, 2007

Strange Brew! I’d forgotten about that movie. Good choice. Beauty, eh?

2. 20 Flicks for a Deserted Island « gedblog - September 13, 2007

[…] along with some “guilty pleasures” thrown in for good measure. Corey Marion, David Miller, Anthony Piraino and I all brainstormed and came up with a list of our current favorite 20 movies. […]

3. Jiffy - September 13, 2007

Ooh, Beastmaster, Grease 2, and the king of guilty pleasures, The Pirates of Penzance? Wow, that is a good list!

4. I ain’t afraid of no ghosts! « Living in the now - November 16, 2007

[…] sweet is that? As regular readers to this blog know, Ghostbusters was Number 5 on my list of Movies for a deserted island.  Also, I was big fan of the Activision Ghostbusters game for the Commodore 64.  In that game, […]

5. Get the funk up! « Living in the now - June 13, 2008

[…] 2 soundtrack (1982) – Well, Grease 2 made it on my “Guilty Pleasures” list on the Movies for a deserted island post, so it’s appropriate that I’ve included an embarrassing song from the soundtrack. […]

6. gedblog » Blog Archive » 20 Flicks for a Deserted Island - August 30, 2008

[…] along with some “guilty pleasures” thrown in for good measure. Corey Marion, David Miller, Anthony Piraino and I all brainstormed and came up with a list of our current favorite 20 movies. […]


Leave a Reply

